Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Duke Retains Inside Track in PBA50 Player of the Year Race

With the inside track in the PBA50 Player of the Year race on the
tour for players 50 and older, PBA Hall of Famer Norm Duke of Clermont, Florida, averaged 229.3 to lead qualifying Tuesday in the PBA50 Treasure Island Resort & Casino Open presented by Hammer at Island Xtreme Bowl, Welch, MN.

Duke, who has won two titles this season including the PBA Senior U.S. Open and has already earned PBA50 Rookie of the Year honors, finished qualifying with a 3,670 pinfall total for 16 games to hold a 25-pin lead over two-time PBA50 Tour winner Lennie Boresch Jr. of Kenosha, Wisconsin, in second with 3,645. Duke had games of 210, 277, 201, 248, 215, 258, 230 and 247 in Tuesday’s second round.

“That’s the reason we’re here,” said the 37-time PBA Tour winner about his quest for PBA50 Player of the Year. “There were some great players battling for it all season and it’s what we all want.”

The two other players in contention for PBA50 Player of the Year – Hall of
Famers Pete Weber and Tom Baker – also advanced to match play finishing
qualifying in eighth and ninth, respectively, but Weber and Duke will receive a
one-round bye in match play as a result of finishing in the top eight.

“It’s really a tournament inside of a tournament,” Duke added. “With the race
coming down to the last tournament of the year, it makes it fun. I’ll have to be
at my best because I know they’ll be prepared.”

If Duke can win PBA50 Player of the Year, he would join Baker as the only
players to earn Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year in the same season.  Baker, who is trying for his fifth PBA50 Player of the Year title, accomplished the feat in 2005.

Duke leads the PBA50 Player of the Year race with 56 points, holding an
eight-point lead over Weber in second with 48 points. Baker is in third with 44
points. In the Player of the Year competition, 16 points are awarded to the
tournament winner, the runner-up gets eight points, third-place is worth four
points and the fourth-place finisher earns two points.

In the final tournament of the 2014 season, the field has been cut to the top 24
players for Wednesday’s match play which will culminate with the championship
rounds at 5 p.m. CT.

The top eight players in competition points (not player of the year points) will
also earn an entry into World Series of Bowling VI in Las Vegas Oct. 24-Nov. 2 and a special PBA50 qualifier preceding the World Series which will determine
the two players who will face off in the WSOB Challenge telecast on ESPN.

The final day of the tournament can be seen live on’s online bowling
channel Xtra Frame. Click on the Xtra Frame logo on the homepage for subscription information.

Tuesday’s second round results after 16 games
Top 24 advance to match play At Island Xtreme Bowl, Welch, Minn.
a-Denotes amateur
s-Denotes super senior out of the regular prize fund cashing for $700

1, Norm Duke, Clermont, Fla., 3,670.
2, Lennie Boresch Jr., Kenosha, Wis., 3,645.
3, Mike Edwards, Tulsa, Okla., 3,620.
4, Harry Sullins, Chesterfield Twp., Mich., 3,607.
5, Randy Pedersen, Orlando, Fla., 3,585.
6, Amleto Monacelli, Venezuela, 3,583.
7, Ron Mohr, Las Vegas, 3,546.
8, Pete Weber, St. Ann, Mo., 3,517.
9, Tom Baker, King, N.C., 3,510.
10, Walter Ray Williams Jr., Ocala, Fla., 3,474.
11, Wayne Webb, Columbus, Ohio, 3,457.
12, David Axon, Bellevue, Neb., 3,456.
13, Bill Henson, Westerville, Ohio, 3,441.
14, Christopher Keane, Cape Coral, Fla., 3,426.
15, Steve Stein, Staten Island, N.Y., 3,410.
16, Ted Staikoff, Black Hawk, S.D., 3,373.
17, Bryan Goebel, Shawnee, Kan., 3,342.
18, Jeff Richgels, Madison, Wis., 3,338.
19, Don Breeden, Clive, Iowa, 3,329.
20, Kevin Foley, Reno, Nev., 3,309.
21, Mike Dias, Lafayette, Colo., 3,306.
22, Darron Peters, Murrieta, Calif., 3,292.
23, Terry Metzner, Kentwood, Mich., 3,288.
24, John Dudak, Orland Park, Ill., 3,280.

Missed Cut:

25, Dale Traber, Cedarburg, Wis., 3,260.
26, a-Dana Wright, St. Paul, Minn., 3,241.
27, s-Patrick King, Yankton, S.D., 3,236, $700.
28, Kenny Parks, Hammond, Ind., 3,231.
29, a-Sam Lantto, Eden Prairie, Minn., 3,229.
30, Todd Kjell, Roscoe, Ill., 3,225.
31, a-Alan Harteneck, Red Wing, Minn., 3,202.
32, s-Timothy Kauble, Marion, Ohio, 3,195, $700.
33, a-Bob Markiewicz, San Diego, 3,192.
34, Gary Livingston, Papillion, Neb., 3,183.
35, s-Lucien Casagrande, Canada, 3,180, $700.
36, a-John Brockland, St. Charles, Mo., 3,151.
37, Tim Pierce, Portland, Ore., 3,150.
38, (tie) Steven Jansson, Barnes, Wis., and s-Phillip Moros, Lombard, Ill., 3,144, $700.
40, Tom Carter, Rockford, Ill., 3,140.
41, s-Harv Pallas, Stevensville, Mich., 3,123, $700.
42, a-Curtis Matlock, Cloquet, Minn., 3,117.
43, Rick Francis, Linden, Calif., 3,107.
44, Bill Sell, Menasha, Wis., 3,105.
45, s-Michael Henry, Brunswick, Ohio, 3,093, $700.
46, (tie) Jerry Lau, St. Peters, Mo., and a-James Martin, Vero Beach, Fla., 3,077.
48, Bill Idzior, Crown Point, Ind., 3,049.
49, Michael Chrzanowski, Shepherd, Mich., 3,039.
50, Bill McCorkle, Westerville, Ohio, 3,036.
51, Dan Schmerbach, St. Joseph, Mo., 3,031.
52, William Keenan, Jr., Orlando, Fla., 3,027.
53, a-Gilbert Kuchta, West Allis, Wis., 3,013.
54, Tracy Teeters, Salem, Ore., 3,011.
55, Dale Eagle, Newport Beach, Calif., 3,005.
56, Darryl Traber, Waterford, Wis., 2,994.
57, a-Mike Schmid, St. Paul, Minn., 2,962.
58, a-Tom Havlish, Coon Rapids, Minn., 2,895.
59, Paul Mielens, Menomonie, Wis., 2,854.
60, Don Birkentall, Omaha, Neb., 2,820.
61, a-Gary Ring, Woodbury, Minn., 2,804.
62, Allen Meskan, Addison, Ill., 2,780.
63, Rich Kleinman, Reno, Nev., 2,768.
64, Will Friedrich, Green Bay, Wis., 2,750.
65, Galen Keas, Alda, Neb., 2,736.
66, Howard Frostman, Washburn, Wis., 2,732.
67, a-Dean Bruinsma, Clear Lake, S.D., 2,730.
68, a=Joe Kolodziejczak, Thunder Bay Ontario, Canada, 2,699.
69, Dave Sill, Titusville, Fla., 1,489 (withdrew).

300 Games - Dave Axon

No comments: