Thursday, April 15, 2010

PBA Exemptions For 2010 -2011

The Professional Bowlers Association (PBA) has confirmed 52 of 53 exemptions for the 2010-11 Lumber Liquidators PBA Tour season, which will get underway in late October.

The exemption list – except for one Golden Umbrella exemption to be awarded later in the year – includes title winners, players from the 2009-10 Lumber
Liquidators PBA Tour World Ranking Points List, seven qualifiers from the 2009 PBA Regional Players Invitational, the points leader among Tour Qualifying Round competitors who finished outside of the exempt points list (Dave D’Entremont of Middleburg Heights, OH), and two players who were granted hardship or medical deferments last season (Baltimore’s Danny Wiseman and Dave Arnold of Dublin, CA).

The PBA also announced how exemptions and pre-event qualifying competitions will be used to fill the 96-player field for the 2010 PBA World Series of Bowling and PBA World Championship. In addition to the 53 PBA Tour exemptions, 20 players will earn berths out of the PBA Regional Players Championship optional qualifying event, 20 more will earn berths in a pre-World Series qualifier, and three spots will be awarded PBA Commissioner’s exemptions.

Here is a complete summary of the exemption and qualifying program for next
season: Lumber Liquidator PBA Tour Exemptions for 2010-11

Exemptions to bowl full-time as members of the Lumber Liquidators PBA Tour for the 2010-11 season will be awarded to 53 individuals based upon the following criteria (see below for criteria for 43 additional exemptions that will apply to the 2010 PBA World Series of Bowling):

● Winners of the PBA’s four major championships, which provide multi-year exemptions: U.S. Open, three years; Tournament of Champions, USBC Masters and PBA World Championship, two years each (based upon any remaining eligibility).

● Winners of a PBA Tour standard title during the previous season.

● Placing in the previous season’s World Point Rankings list, minus those who have otherwise earned exemptions, up to a maximum of 42.

● Leading non-exempt member in the previous season’s World Point
Rankings (among players who regularly participate in Tour Qualifying Rounds).

● Top 7 finishers in the previous season’s PBA Regional Players Invitational (RPI).

● Resuming a previous exemption after a medical or hardship deferment.

● Receiving a “Golden Parachute” exemption from the PBA (granted to one non-exempt player by the PBA leadership).

Weekly exemptions are awarded through a PBA Tour Qualifying Round (TQR). The number of exemptions may vary by event.

Exemption criteria is subject to change each year.


U.S. Open champions: Norm Duke (2008 winner; exempt thru 2010-11)
Mike Scroggins (2009 winner; exempt thru 2011-12), Bill O’Neill (2010 winner; exempt thru 2012-13)

PBA Tournament of Champions winners: Patrick Allen (2009 winner; exempt thru 2010-11), Kelly Kulick (2010 winner, exempt thru 2011-12)

PBA World Championship winners: Norm Duke (2008 winner; already exempt thru 2010-11), Tom Smallwood (2009 winner; exempt thru 2011-12)

USBC Masters winners: John Nolen (2009 winner; exempt thru 2010-11),
Walter Ray Williams Jr. (2010 winner; exempt thru 2011-12)

2009-10 PBA Tour Standard Title Winners
Norm Duke, Cheetah Championship (major exemption)
Walter Ray Williams Jr., Motor City Open (major exemption)
Rhino Page, Viper Championship
Bill O’Neill, Chameleon Championship (major exemption)
Mike DeVaney, Scorpion Championship
Jack Jurek, Shark Championship
Mike Scroggins, Red, White and Blue Open (major exemption)
Anthony LaCaze, Earl Anthony Memorial Open
Mike Fagan, Dick Weber Open
Brian Voss, PBA Mixed Doubles
Mike Scroggins, Don Johnson Eliminator (major exemption)
Brian Kretzer, Match Play Championship
Pete Weber, Marathon Open

2009 Regional Players Invitational Qualifiers
Scott Norton, Costa Mesa, CA, Bobby Hall II, Landover, MD, Ryan Ciminelli, Cheektowaga, NY, Lennie Boresch Jr., Kenosha, WI, Chris Warren, Grants Pass, OR, David Beres, Greenfield, WI, Jeff Zaffino, Warren, PA.

2009-10 Non-Exempt Points Leader
Dave D’Entremont, Middleburg Heights, Ohio

2010-11 Exempt Players List
W.R. Williams Jr., Ocala, Fla.
Bill O'Neill, Southampton, Pa.
Tom Smallwood, Saginaw, Mich.
Doug Kent, Newark, N.Y.
John Nolen, Grand Blanc, Mich.
Kelly Kulick, Union, N.J.
Mike Scroggins, Amarillo, Texas
Rhino Page, Dade City, Fla.
Norm Duke, Clermont, Fla.
Mike DeVaney, San Diego
Jack Jurek, Lackawanna, N.Y.
Mike Fagan, Patchogue, N.Y.
Brian Kretzer, Dayton, Ohio
Brian Voss, Alpharetta, Ga.
Anthony LaCaze, Melrose Park, Ill
Pete Weber, St. Ann, Mo.
Chris Barnes, Double Oak, Texas
Wes Malott, Pflugerville, Texas
Jason Belmonte, Australia
Tommy Jones, Simpsonville, S.C.
Sean Rash, Wichita, Kan.
Jason Couch, Clermont, Fla.
Ryan Shafer, Horseheads, N.Y.
Chris Loschetter, Avon, Ohio
Patrick Allen, Wesley Chapel, Fla.
Mika Koivuniemi, Hartland, Mich.
Michael Machuga, Erie, Pa.
Brad Angelo, Lockport, N.Y.
Eugene McCune, Munster, Ind.
Andres Gomez, Colombia
Stevie Weber, Chalmette, La.
Ronnie Russell, Camby, Ind.
Steve Jaros, Yorkville, Ill.
Michael Haugen Jr., Carefree, Ariz.
Steve Harman, Indianapolis
Jeff Carter, Springfield, Ill.
Parker Bohn III, Jackson, N.J.
Mike Edwards, Tulsa, Okla.
Joe Ciccone, Buffalo, N.Y.
Mike Wolfe, New Albany, Ind.
Robert Smith, Columbus, Ohio
Lonnie Waliczek, Wichita, Kan
Danny Wiseman, Baltimore
Dave Arnold, Dublin, Calif.
Dave D'Entremont, Middleburg Hts., Ohio
Ryan Ciminelli, Cheektowaga, N.Y.
Scott Norton, Costa Mesa, Calif.
Bobby Hall II, Landover, Md.
Lennie Boresch Jr., Kenosha, Wis.
Chris Warren, Grants Pass, Ore.
Dave Beres, Greenfield, Wis.
Jeff Zaffino, Warren, Pa.

A total of 96 players will qualify to participate in the 2010 PBA World Series
of Bowling, an event that will consist of five daily “animal pattern” stages
with total pinfall for all five events combined producing the final standings
for the 2010 PBA World Championship. The first 53 positions will be awarded to 2010-11 Exempt Tour players (see above); the remaining 43 World Series of Bowling berths will be awarded as follows:

● 20 berths will be awarded to players who pay an optional World Series Trials
entry fee during the PBA Regional Players Championship (RPC) May 28-31 at Thunderbowl Lanes in Allen Park, Mich. (exemptions will be based upon total pinfall for the first 16 qualifying games in the RPC). Players will be exempt for the entireWorld Series, with no additional entry fees.
● 20 berths will be awarded to players competing in a second World Series Trials event to be held immediately preceding the World Series of Bowling (tentatively scheduled for Las Vegas in late October). Format and entry fee has not been finalized. Players will be exempt for the entire World Series, with no
additional entry fees.
● Three PBA Commissioner’s Exemptions will be awarded and will be valid for the entire World Series only.

No comments: