Thursday, March 27, 2014

Derick Holmes Wichita Senior Selected Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow

Derick Holmes of Wichita, KS, a senior at Wichita Southeast High School, has been selected as the 2014 Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award recipient.

The annual award recognizes star qualities, including distinguished bowling performance, academic achievement and civic involvement, in a male high school or college student who competes in bowling. It is named for the former Young American Bowling Alliance Executive Director, who spent much of his life helping young people through his association with junior bowling.

The award winner, selected by the International Bowling Campus Youth Committee, receives a $6,000 scholarship.

“To be selected for this award is such an amazing honor,” Holmes said. “I truly have had a fantastic high school career in bowling, and this just tops it off. This award inspires me even more because I know some of the nation’s best bowlers have won this award. And to be in the elite group of people this award represents just feels so amazing!”

Holmes,17, is the top-ranked student in his senior class with a 4.0 grade-point average (based on 4.0 scale) and was awarded the Gold Buffalo Award in October 2013 for having a 4.0 GPA his first three years of high school. He also has been named a Kansas Honors Scholar.

He is a 12-year member of the Boy Scouts and earned Eagle Scout in 2010. His community service includes working the annual blood drive at the high school the last three years and a Turkey Drive that collected 400 turkeys for the local food bank. He also is a Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership (HOBY) Junior Facilitator and volunteered at a four-day seminar to promote community involvement and leadership.

For his efforts on the lanes, he was selected to the 2012-2013 Dexter/USBC High School All-America Team. He won the Kansas State High School Activities Association individual state title as a junior and is a two-time KSHSAA all-state member.

Holmes, who plans to attend Wichita State in the fall, also is a competitive baseball player and has played baseball most of his life. In the fourth grade, he saw an advertisement for an after-school bowling league and joined with a friend.

“We weren’t very good, but we had a great time,” Holmes said. “Once I got to middle school, I wanted to get better and took a developmental league over the summer and started getting private lessons from the local professionals. Every year, I just got better and better, and to this day, the trend has continued. I love the sport of bowling, and my thirst for knowledge, and the drive to better myself, has kept me in the sport.”

As the 2014 Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award winner, Holmes receives an all-expenses paid trip to the 2014 USBC Convention, where he will receive his award. will live stream the USBC Convention, including the award presentation.

Go to to learn more about scholarships available to USBC Youth bowlers.

Year, winner, hometown
1980 Chris Whitty, Simonton, Texas
1981 Drew Barthle, Tampa, Fla.
1982 Ricky Corona, Oakland, Calif.
1983 Dan Nadeau, Las Vegas
1984 Robert Beck, Houston
1985 Justin Hromek, Andover, Kan.
1986 Pat Healey, Wichita, Kan.
1987 Mark Fisser, Buena Park, Calif.
1988 Bradley Joinetz, San Antonio, Texas
1989 Lonnie Waliczek, Wichita, Kan.
1990 Jason McCarty, Fultondale, Ala.
1991 Chris Williams, Anchorage, Alaska
1992 Robert Smith, Moorpark, Calif.
1993 Vince Biondo, Hoffman Estates, Ill.
1994 Michael Mullin, New City, N.Y.
1995 John Miller, Wichita, Kan.
1996 David Eisenberg, Kendall Park, N.J.
1997 Todd Filter, Cedarburg, Wis.
1998 James (Eddie) Kirtley, Bowling Green, Ky.
1999 Andrew Cain, Glendale, Ariz.
2000 Scott Norton, Cypress, Calif.
2001 Sean Rash, Anchorage, Alaska
2002 Nathan Bohr, Austin, Texas
2003 Marc D'Errico, Rochester, N.Y.,
2004 Patrick Haggerty, Weimar, Calif.
2005 Brandon Temple, Tempe, Ariz.
2006 Eric Helmrich, Saint Leonard, Md.
2007 Jonathan Buckert, Rochester, N.Y.
2008 Kyle Kahlden, Houston
2009 Chris Bardol, Brockport, N.Y.
2010 Andrew Koff, Miami, Fla.
2011 Brent Bowers, Mulvane, Kan.
2012 Kyle Anderson, Lockport, Ill.
2013 Joey Kopera, Orland Park, Ill.

2014 Derick Holmes, Wichita, Kan.

No comments: