Friday, March 20, 2009

Go RVing Match Play Championships

The top four seeds survived the Round of 64 eliminations Thursday in the 
Professional Bowlers Association (PBA) Go RVing Match
Play Championship
at Norwich Bowling and Entertainment Center.

No. 1 seed and 2008-09 Player of the Year front-runner Wes Malott of
Pflugerville, Texas defeated Alex Aquiar of Dartmouth, Mass., 4-1 in the best-of-
seven game Round of 64 match. Malott is looking for his fourth win of the
2008-09 Lumber Liquidators PBA Tour

Looking for his first career title, No. 2 seed Bill O’Neill of Southampton, Pa.,
No. 3 seed and reigning PBA Player of the Year Chris Barnes of Double Oak,
Texas, and No. 4 seed, PBA Hall of Famer Norm Duke of Clermont, Fla.., all
advanced to the Round of 32 by winning their matches 4-1.

Like the NCAA Basketball Tournament, the Go RVing Match Play Championship
incorporates a win-or-go-home bracket elimination format that started with 64
competitors. Rounds of 32, 16 and 8 will be conducted on Friday.

The semifinals will take place on Saturday beginning at 6 p.m. Eastern with
coverage on Xtra Frame, the PBA’s online video service. The live ESPN-final
match for the Go RVing Match Play Championship will be conducted Sunday at 1
p.m. Eastern. Both the semifinals and the live ESPN finals will feature
three-game total pinfall matches.

The final leg of the PBA Tour’s five-event “Extreme Swing” also involves the
pressure of earning points to qualify for the GEICO PBA Team Shootout hosted
by Six Flags, scheduled for June in Jackson, N.J. The top eight in Extreme Swing
points will earn spots in that special event.

The Go RVing Match Play Championship is part of the PBA’s 50th Anniversary
season “Extreme Swing,” which also includes the Ultimate Scoring Championship,
GEICO Plastic Ball Championship, Etonic Marathon Open, and the Don Johnson
Buckeye State Eliminator. The creative format events are meant to test the
greatest bowlers in the world in different areas of the game, provide television
audiences with a fresh look while providing education on pertinent aspects of
the game.

Go RVing Match Play Championship
Norwich Bowling and Entertainment Center – Norwich, Conn.
Round of 64 – Best of 7 Games, Losers Eliminated Earn $1,800

#1 Wes Malott, Pflugerville, Texas, def. #64 Alex Aguiar, Dartmouth, Mass., 4-1
#2 Bill O'Neill, Southampton, Pa., def. #63 Scott Santos, Ledyard, Conn., 4-1
#3 Chris Barnes, Double Oak, Texas, def. #62 Joe Biscardi, Wantagh, N.Y., 4-1
#4 Norm Duke, Clermont, Fla., def. #61 Joseph Costanzo, Plainview, N.Y., 4-1
#5 Walter Ray Williams Jr., Ocala, Fla., def. #60 Vinny D'Ambrosio III, Staten Island, N.Y., 4-3
#7 Mike Scroggins, Amarillo, Texas, def. #58 Ryan Ciminelli, Cheektowaga, N..Y., 4-0
#8 Brad Angelo, Lockport, N.Y., def. #57 Terrance Reeves, Valrico, Fla., 4-1
#9 Patrick Allen, Wesley Chapel, Fla., def. #56 David Traber, Hebron, Ill., 4-1
#10 Michael Fagan, Patchogue, N.Y., def. #55 Brian LeClair, Athens, N.Y., 4-1
#12 Tommy Jones, Simpsonville, S.C., def. #53 Chester Rogers Jr., Milwaukie, Ore., 4-1
#13 Parker Bohn III, Jackson, N.J., def. #52 Jason Lundquist, Delaware Water Gap, Pa, 4-1
#14 Ryan Shafer, Horseheads, N.Y., def. #51 Mitch Beasley, Puyallup, Wash., 4-2
#16 Chris Loschetter, Avon, Ohio, def. #49 Craig Tuholski, Washougal, Wash., 4-1
#17 Mike DeVaney, San Diego, def. #48 Chad Kloss, Greenfield, Wis., 4-1
#19 Steve Jaros, Yorkville, Ill., def. #46 Chris Warren, Grants Pass, Ore., 4-3
#20 Eugene McCune, Munster, Ind., def. #45 Randy Weiss, Columbia, S.C., 4-1
#21 Danny Wiseman, Baltimore, def. #44 Tom Baker, King, N.C., 4-1
#22 Ritchie Allen, Columbia, S.C., def. #43 Doug Kent, Newark, N.Y., 4-3
#24 Rhino Page, Topeka, Kan., def. #41 Joe Bailey, Pittsburgh, 4-1
#26 Brian Kretzer, Dayton, Ohio, def. #39 Todd Book, Wapakoneta, Ohio, 4-2
#27 Dino Castillo, Carrollton, Texas, def. #38 Joe Ciccone, Buffalo, N.Y., 4-3
#28 Ronnie Russell, Indianapolis, def. #37 Ken Abner, Cincinnati, 4-1
#29 Jeff Carter, Springfield, Ill., def. #36 Ken Simard, Greenville, S.C., 4-3
#32 Nathan Bohr, Wichita, Kan., def. #33 Robert Smith, Columbus, Ohio, 4-2
#34 Jason Couch, Clermont, Fla., def. #31 Jason Sterner, McDonough, Ga., 4-2
#35 Tony Reyes, San Bruno, Calif., def. #30 Michael Machuga, Erie, Pa., 4-3
#40 Mike Edwards, Tulsa, Okla., def. #25 Edward VanDaniker Jr., Essex, Md., 4-3
#42 Mike Wolfe, New Albany, Ind., def. #23 Jack Jurek, Lackawanna, N.Y., 4-2
#47 Dave D'Entremont, Middleburg Heights, Ohio, def. #18 Steve Harman, Indianapolis, 4-2
#50 Billy Oatman, Chicago, def. #15 Mika Koivuniemi, Hartland, Mich., 4-3
#59 Bobby Hall II, Landover, Md., def. #6 Pete Weber, St. Ann, Mo., 4-2
#54 Andrew Cain, Scottsdale, Ariz., def. #11 Sean Rash, Wichita, Kan., 4-1

No comments: