Thursday, June 18, 2009

GEICO PBA Team Shootout

Bowling fans will be able to watch three of the greatest bowling teams ever
assembled do battle when ESPN airs 15 tape-delayed shows of the GEICO PBA
Team Shootout hosted by Six Flags beginning Sunday and continuing the next
three Sundays.

Eighteen of the Lumber Liquidators PBA Tour’s top competitors tested their
skills at “outdoor bowling” in a unique round-robin team competition contested
on lanes constructed at Six Flags Great Adventure in Jackson, N.J., June 11-13.

Among the stars competing included 2008-09 Player of the Year Wes Malott,
two-handed Australian sensation and Rookie of the Year Jason Belmonte, and
Hall of Famers Parker Bohn III, Walter Ray Williams Jr., Pete Weber and
Norm Duke.

This Sunday ESPN will telecast two half hour shows - 1:30 and 4:30 p.m. Eastern
- which will feature Baker Scoring System round-robin qualifying matches. The
Baker system requires each member of a five-player team to bowl two frames in
one game to combine for one score.

An innovation in televised bowling will also debut in Sunday’s matches. One
player on each team will have an earpiece giving announcers the ability to ask
the player questions during actual competition.

The players qualified for the event through their performances in PBA’s 2008-09
Extreme Swing, Versatility Swing and Grand Slam point lists as well as five
wild card selections, and teams were assembled based upon the ages of players.
Team Bayer includes the six youngest players in the group – the “young guns”
of the PBA. Team Lumber Liquidators features the six oldest, most experienced
and most decorated players on Tour. Team GEICO is the “middle-aged” group,
and arguably the most competitive group of players in PBA Tour competition
today. Team rosters are:

Team Bayer – Jason Belmonte, Mike Fagan, Tommy Jones, Bill O’Neill, Rhino
Page and Sean Rash.

Team GEICO – Patrick Allen, Brad Angelo, Chris Barnes, Mika Koivuniemi, Wes
Malott and Mike Wolfe.

Team Lumber Liquidators – Parker Bohn III, Norm Duke, Steve Jaros, Mike
Scroggins, Pete Weber and Walter Ray Williams Jr.

No comments: