Friday, January 15, 2010

Jones and Barnes Lead Earl Anthony Memorial

Top qualifiers Tommy Jones of Simpsonville, SC, and Lynda Barnes of Double Oak, TX, led the players who continued to advance toward Sunday’s finals in the Professional Bowlers Association (PBA)’s Earl Anthony Memorial at Earl Anthony’s Dublin Bowl Friday afternoon.

Jones, after earning a bye from the Round of 28, had to rally from a 3-2 deficit
in his best-of-seven-game elimination match against Mike Scroggins of Amarillo,
TX, winning the final game, 256-185, to advance to Friday night’s Round of 8.
No. 2 qualifier Jason Belmonte of Australia also advanced in the same fashion,
rallying from a 3-2 deficit to eliminated Colombia’s Andres Gomez, 4-3.

On the women's side, Linda Barnes, a local favorite because of her childhood roots in nearby Concord, CA, defeated Lindsay Baker of Amherst, NY, 4-2, to advance to the Women’s Series presented by BOWL.COM Round of 4. Defending Earl Anthony Memorial women's champion Wendy Macpherson of Henderson, NV, was knocked out of the event by Shannon Pluhowsky of Kettering, Ohio, 4-1.

The eight men’s and four women’s winners after Friday’s afternoon matches bowled Friday night to determine the four men and two women who will advance to Sunday’s finals on ESPN at 1 p.m. Eastern (10 a.m. Pacific).

The Earl Anthony Memorial, the ninth event of the 2009-10 Lumber Liquidators PBA Tour season, is dedicated to the late superstar who was recognized as the greatest player in PBA history last January during the organization’s 50th anniversary celebration. Anthony, the first player in PBA history to earn $1 million, was a 43-time PBA Tour champion.

Earl Anthony’s Dublin Bowl, Dublin, Calif., Jan. 15

(best of seven games, losers eliminated and earned $3,400)
Ryan Shafer, Horseheads, N.Y., def. Brian Kretzer, Dayton, Ohio, 4-2
Michael Machuga, Erie, Pa., def. Brad Angelo, Lockport, N.Y., 4-3
Sean Rash, Wichita, Kan., def. John Nolen, Grand Blanc, Mich., 4-1
Jason Belmonte, Australia, def. Andres Gomez, Colombia, 4-3
Mike Wolfe, New Albany, Ind., def. Mike DeVaney, San Diego, 4-1
Stevie Weber, Chalmette, La., def. PJ Haggerty, Clovis, Calif., 4-2
Anthony LaCaze, Melrose Park, Ill, def. Patrick Allen, Wesley Chapel, Fla., 4-2
Tommy Jones, Simpsonville, S.C., def. Mike Scroggins, Amarillo, Texas, 4-3

(best of seven games, losers eliminated and earned $2,500)
Scroggins def. Jack Jurek, Lackawanna, N.Y., 4-1
LaCaze def. Mitch Beasley, Puyallup, Wash., 4-2
P. Allen def. Walter Ray Williams Jr., Ocala, Fla., 4-2
Weber def. Chris Barnes, Double Oak, Texas, 4-3
Haggerty def. Eugene McCune, Munster, Ind., 4-3
DeVaney def. Robert Smith, Columbus, Ohio, 4-0
Gomez def. Stuart Williams, England, 4-1
Rash def. Michael Haugen Jr., Carefree, Ariz., 4-1
Nolen def. Mika Koivuniemi, Howell, Mich., 4-2
Machuga def. Ritchie Allen, Columbia, S.C., 4-1
Angelo def. Nathan Bohr, Wichita, Kan., 4-2
Shafer def. Steve Harman, Indianapolis, 4-1

(best of seven games, losers eliminated and earned $2,500)
Lynda Barnes, Double Oak, Texas, def. Lindsay Baker, Amherst, N.Y., 4-2
Stefanie Nation, Grand Prairie, Texas, def. Liz Johnson, Cheektowaga, N.Y., 4-0
Shannon Pluhowsky, Kettering, OH, def. Wendy Macpherson, Henderson, NV, 4-1
Jodi Woessner, Oregon, Ohio, def. Kelly Kulick, Union, N.J., 4-3

No comments: